Architecture: Israel Doors

Throughout my time in Israel I have been documenting different doors I come across on my adventures. I think doors are the beginning of how you begin to move within a space. They are an entrance into a space that allows one to experience it as they approach a site or building. Doors can hold a sense of mystery by the coloring and textures, tell a story with pictorial or symbolic ornamentation, and reflect a culture with difference knobs and shapes. Below I will feature pictures of the doors I have spotted and give a brief description with the significance of the door and why it caught my eye.

IMG_8642

Lod, Israel. I was on a tour of this city on a Global Leadership Seminar. It is one of the most financially unstable cities in Israel with a combined community history. Presently, it is on the rise with a youth center where Arabs and Jews work together and help create a safer community. This door as well as the next was part of walking around a main quarter of town where there is a mosque, church, and synagogue.

IMG_8643

Lod, Israel. See description above.

IMG_8644

Old City, Jerusalem, Israel. This door I passed while walking in the Old City. the Old City is divided into three quarters, the Jewish Quarter, the Christian/Armenian Quarter, and the Muslim Quarter. The Old City, has been a place of unrest and dispute. However, the streets are beautiful and full of history. This door is an entrance into a home. I thought the detail and ornamentation was beautiful along with the color, ware, and metal material.

IMG_8645

Jerusalem, Israel. This door I see quite often. It is down a way I travel when going back to my apartment from work. It took me a few weeks to find this street and the fact it lead to my apartment, but once I figured it out is filled with beautiful doors, including the one below. This door is an entrance into a gallery, so naturally it is very colorful with the painting details as well as the knob design with a Star of David.

IMG_8648

Jerusalem, Israel. See description above.

IMG_8399

Old City, Jerusalem, Israel. This door and the next door are close to the Western Wall in the Old City. These were the first two doors that inspired my idea to start a door series while I traveled around. I love the deep emerald green of this door. The metal is dented, yet I think it is a good representation of time and beauty.

IMG_8374

Old City, Jerusalem, Israel. This is my favorite door I have photographed. I particularly was caught with the design in the two side facing rhombuses in the middle of the door. I think they look like eyes, which watch over the Old City because you see it right when you walk up the hill out of the Kotel, the plaza and the Western Wall.  I think it has a sense of simplicity to it as well as a great meaning to go along with the area.


Jerusalem, Israel. This is the door I walked through everyday for work. It is an entrance to a gorgeous building, a converted mansion. These doors welcomed me into the Israeli work culture and are the reason why I continue to pursue interacting in an international environment. 

Tel Aviv, Israel. This is another one of my favorite doors outside of Jerusalem. Going on a tour of neighborhoods in Tel Aviv I came across this entrance to an art gallery. The way the flowers frame the deep blue door makes the aesthetic of the entrance a perfect prelude to the art inside. 

Tel Aviv, Israel. The combination of colors of this fence door entrance is what made this so aesthetically pleasing. Tel Aviv has some of the most beautiful flowers along walkways and this is a perfect example on how I just stumble upon images such as this one. 

Jerusalem, Israel. Down this street is close to where I work and this door is quite larger than other around it. It stands out among the rest and the color is this beautiful faded blue, which pops against the Jerusalem stone surrounding it.  


Jerusalem, Israel. This door I spotted when walking to a Shabbat lunch and it caught my eye with the framing bushes as well as the window design on the door. 

Leave a Reply

