Life: 5 Tips for High Learning Potential

It seems like just a few days ago I was walking through the quad on my first day of college going to my very first class, Writing, Rhetoric, and Discourse 103. I loved the feeling of responsibility that coursed through my mind, I flourished in the fact that I own the decisions I make from this moment forward, and that I determine what are the next steps I need to take in order to reach a goal. Education is my solid ground, I can count on the experiences I have to make my vision of my future clear and sure. Learning is an experience and a privilege, so making the most out of it is crucial and essential to the process of growing and succeeding in your educational endeavors.

  1. Own your future
    • This is your time, explore what you want to do and once you find “it” go at it with all you have. The only way to get where you want to be is by actually taking the steps to get there, so just do it.
  2. Do not get stuck
    • If you ever find yourself saying, “This is okay,” or “This is good enough,” well take a second look and really ask yourself if this is what you want to be doing. If you hesitate on any answer, then stop whatever it is that is just satisfactory and start from a clean slate, it will be worth it in the long run when you love what you do.
  3. Do not be afraid to fail
    • I think this one of the most difficult things to experience, when you put your hard work into something, think you know what you are doing, and then in the end it just was not up to par. It is okay, just learn from the mistake and move on. The key is, is to not make the same mistake a second time.
  4.  Unconventionality is a good thing
    • I had a wonderful plan coming into my college years and now that they are coming to a close, I am finding my initial intentions a bit different then what I have actually done. I still kept on a path that I had a general direction of where I am going, yet I also took some turns that were unexpected and I came out of those experiences a much better person. I developed from these experiences in ways I could not imagine, so embrace the things that just pop up and you may never know how you will grow in the process.
  5. Enjoy it
    • This is the one time in life where you are given opportunities to learn to the highest of your potential. Love every minute of it because I am honestly never going to want to stop going to school and learning all that I want to know. I do believe that knowledge is a source of greatness, so love what you learn and enjoy each learning experience as it comes your way.
Leave a Reply

