Life: Top 5 Tips for Staying Motivated

It can be difficult getting out of bed each morning to go to work, attend class, or just be productive in general for the day. As much as I would like to stay in bed, take a beach day, or spontaneously buy a plane ticket to get out of the busy city for a moment, I know I have obligations. People appreciate my presence along with my full attention to commitments I make. In order to keep balance and productivity in check, I have complied five tips that help me stay on my motivational track:

  1. Start each day with a clean slate
    • Waking up and piling on the tasks and occurrences from previous days can make the new day seem unapproachable and sometimes impossible. Some of the things you add to your list may not even be necessary to think about for the day. Before I go to bed each night, I make a list of the things I need to carry over into the next day. In the morning, I stick to the fresh and focused day.
  2. Think short-term versus long-term
    • Categorize tasks into what needs to be done immediately and what can wait until a later time.My timeline tends to categorize short-term into getting it done the same day, and to minimize that block even more, if I can get it done in less than 10 minutes then it will be done immediately. Long-term tends to fall into the next day or even throughout the week, and sometimes I designate a specific time to accomplish a task.
  3. Keep track of progress
    • If I have an ongoing project or assignment I start by designating a certain to just that project, such as The WH. I block out time to write after my evening workouts, and then I block out time to edit during a lunch break at work. ┬áThis way I have a consistent expectation of when I am getting things done, and I am able to see the progress I make by sticking to my schedule.
  4. It is okay to get off track
    • As much as I like to keep to a schedule and enjoy the things I do each day, sometimes I do get off track. I may glue myself to House of Cards too long, or engross myself in a book for more time than I expected. This is completely normal, and how you take the time to recuperate from a day. As long as it is in healthy doses and it does not interfere with priorities and obligations, “Me Time” is usually well deserved.
  5. Remind yourself why you do what you do
    • In all the hustle of the day, my vision occasionally get blurred of why I am doing this: Why am I taking more classes than I need to, why do I work and go to school, why do I take time for friends when they need me, why do I care about the things I do? When I think about these questions, the answer is always the same, it is because I want to and it makes me happy. I enjoy school, I enjoy work, and it is my number one priority to care deeply for my family and friends. It may be a lot some days, yet it is completely worth it.
Leave a Reply

